Webinars

Current FFLM Webinar Programme

The programme covers Legal Medicine, General Forensic Medicine, and Sexual Offence Medicine topics to update experienced practitioners, as well as helping candidates preparing for FFLM examinations.

A webinar is a live interactive web based seminar, accessed via an internet connected device with audio e.g. iPad, smartphone or laptop.

The webinars will be held at 19:00 on a weekday evening (unless specified otherwise) and if you are unable to watch the live webinar you will be able to access the recorded content afterwards.

Attendance certificates will be available for all live and recorded webinars.

For Members (Affiliates, Associates, Fellows, Licentiates and Members) each webinar costs £20 and for Non-members each webinar costs £30. Please make your payment by clicking on the webinar titles below.

Please note, Members will need to login to their FFLM account first to access the member rate.

There is a 10% discount for a booking of five webinars (use code web10).

There is a discount for group bookings, please contact forensic.medicine@fflm.ac.uk for more information.

All webinars can be booked retrospectively.

If you have any questions, please contact forensic.medicine@fflm.ac.uk.

Upcoming Webinars 

  Date   Webinar   Presenter   Payment (Member / Non-Member)
Monday 21 June 2021 GHB and related analogues
Dr David Wood  Free for Members / £30.00
Wednesday 30 June 2021 Adult Safeguarding Dr Elisabeth Alton Free for Members / £30.00
Thursday 15 July 2021 Driven to Drink
Dr Paul Williams Free for Members / £ 30.00
Wednesday 21 July 2021 at 10:00 Tackling Stalking: A Multi-Agency Approach DC David Tate and Dr Alan Underwood Free for Members / £30.00
Monday 26 July 2021 Fitness to be interviewed by the police Prof Margaret Stark Free for Members/ £30.00
Monday 13 September 2021 DLM and MFFLM Part 1 Revision Prof Sarah Hull Free for Members and Non-Members
Monday 20 September 2021 at 17:00 LFFLM Part 1 Revision Dr Lucy Love Free for Members and Non-Members
Date TBC Pre-release risk assessment Dr Helena Austin £20.00 / £30.00

 

Previous Webinars 

  Date   Webinar   Presenter   Payment (Member / Non-Member)
Monday 11 June 2020 Stay-Alert – Pass Exam Dr Caroline Jones Free: click here to view
Monday 06 July 2020 The Role of the Medical Examiner Prof Jason Payne-James £20.00 / £30.00
Thursday 16 July 2020 A Conversation on Recently updated FFLM Documents Prof Margaret Stark Free for Members / £30.00
Tuesday 21 July 2020 Completing a Medical Certificate of Cause of Death Prof Jason Payne-James £20.00 / £30.00
Wednesday 29 July 2020 Effective handover from the ‘detained’ to ‘secure’ estate – how can we close the gap to improve patient care Dr Jake Hard £20.00 / £30.00
Tuesday 04 August 2020 Scene Examination Prof Richard Shepherd £20.00 / £30.00
Thursday 13 August 2020 Recognition and Photography of Human Bite Marks Dr Douglas Sheasby £20.00 / £30.00
Tuesday 18 August 2020 Clinical Leadership Dr Caroline Osborne-White £20.00 / £30.00
Tuesday 25 August 2020 The Role of the Forensic Nurse Jennie Smith £20.00 / £30.00
Thursday 27 August 2020 How Are Clinical Forensic Medical Services Provided Outside Of England And Wales? Dr David Carson, Dr Vincent Davidson, Dr Deryn Evans Free for Members / £30.00
Thursday 03 September 2020 Everything you always wanted to know about dentolegal but didn’t like to ask Mr Brian Westbury £20.00 / £30.00
Wednesday 09 September 2020 Novel psychoactive substances Mr Hassan Kurimbokus £20.00 / £30.00
Thursday 10 September 2020 Hints and tips for the October 2020 examinations Prof Sarah Hull £20.00 / £30.00
Thursday 17 September 2020 Highlights from the Blue Guidelines – using illustrative cases Prof Margaret Stark £20.00 / £30.00
Thursday 24 September 2020 COVID-19 and Custody Dr Alex Gorton £20.00 / £30.00
Tuesday 29 September 2020 COVID-19 and SARCs: The story so far….. Dr Cath White OBE £20.00 / £30.00
Monday 05 October 2020 View from the ‘Beak’ – the role of Magistrates Dr Bernadette Butler £20.00 / £30.00
Wednesday 07 October 2020 at 17:00 Route to LFFLM (SOM)c for Paediatricians experienced in CSA Examinations Dr Caroline Jones Free: click here to view
Wednesday 14 October 2020 at 15:00 Practical Ethics Dr Michael Devlin £20.00 / £30.00
Monday 26 October 2020 Complaint handling / Engagement with the IOPC DCI Syed Hussain £20.00 / £30.00
Wednesday 28 October 2020 How to Pass the Part 2 of the MFFLM or LFFLM Dr Sally Pickard, Stacey Shelley and Dr Philip Zack Free: click here to view
Monday 02 November 2020 Assessment for ASD in custody Prof Rajan Nathan £20.00 / £30.00
Tuesday 24 November 2020 Sexually Transmitted Infections after sexual assault Dr Michelle Carroll £20.00 / £30.00
Monday 30 November 2020 at 14:00 The Role of the Appropriate Adult Chris Bath and Grev Wallington Free for Members / £30.00
Thursday 03 December 2020 Wellness and Wellbeing Dr Emma Vaux £20.00 / £30.00
Monday 11 January 2021 Reflections on medical negligence Dr Michael J Powers QC £20.00 / £30.00
Wednesday 20 January 2021 Child Safeguarding Dr Peter Green and Dr Sheila Paul £20.00 / £30.00
Thursday 28 January 2021 Management of Photo Documentation of Intimate Images Dr Bernadette Butler £20.00 / £30.00
Thursday 11 February 2021 The FFLM Licentiate examination – the role of the Educational Supervisor and how to produce a ‘Gold Standard’ Portfolio Dr Christine Greenshaw and Prof Margaret Stark Free: click here to view.
Wednesday 17 February 2021 Forensic Sampling for HCPs working in General Forensic Medicine Dr Bernadette Butler, Dr Sandy Fielding and Dr Alex Gorton £20.00 / £30.00
Monday 22 February 2021 How are Clinical Forensic Medical Services Provided Outside of England and Wales Part 2? Prof Denis Cusack and Dr Maric Thorpe Free for Members / £30.00
Thursday 25 February 2021 at 18:30 Leadership in a Pandemic Prof Jason Leitch £20.00 / £30.00
Thursday 04 March 2021 Photo-Documentation of Injuries Dr Will Anderson £20.00 / £30.00
Thursday 18 March 2021 Mental Health Legislation Dr Gabrielle Pendlebury £20.00 / £30.00
Wednesday 31 March 2021 at 20:00 Provision of Forensic Services over Australasia Dr Angela Williams Free for Members / £30.00
Tuesday 13 April 2021 COVID, Custody and SARCs – an update Dr Alex Gorton and Dr Cath White £20.00 / £30.00
Wednesday 28 April 2021 An introduction to the Forensic Capability Network – opportunities for research, ideas and current challenges Carolyn Lovell Free for Members / £30.00
Tuesday 04 May 2021

Pandemic…a Medicolegal Perspective

Dr Philip Zack £20.00 / £30.00
Wednesday 05 May 2021 The Diploma of Legal Medicine Mr Brian Westbury Free: click here to view
Thursday 13 May 2021 Overview of the Sexual Assault Forensic Clinical Services in the Republic of Ireland
Dr Roger Derham, Dr Maeve Eogan, Catherine Marsh and Dr Joanne Nelson Free for Members / £30.00
Thursday 20 May 2021 Medical Conditions, DVLA and (F)ME!! Dr Sophie Carter-Ingram £20.00 / £30.00
Monday 24 May 2021 Expert evidence: questions and answers Prof Keith Rix Free for Members / £30.00
Wednesday 02 June 2021 GHBRS and Chemsex Mr David Stuart Free for Members/ £30.00
Monday 07 June 2021 Maintaining a Space for FMEs: Professional Challenges in Forensic Medicine Dr Gethin Rees Free for Members / £30.00

 

Upcoming Free webinars for FFLM Members

GHB and related analogues

Presented by Dr David Wood.

Dr Wood’s biography and the webinar learning objectives can be viewed here.

This webinar will be on Monday 21 June 2021 at 19:00 and is free for FFLM Members (Affiliates, Associates, Fellows, Licentiates and Members) to attend. Please book to register (please note you will need to be logged into the FFLM website first to register).

Please click here to register.

DLM and MFFLM Part 1 Examination Revision

Presented by Prof Sarah Hull, Lead Examiner for the Diploma of Legal Medicine and Part 1 MFFLM exam.

Please click here to register.

Previous Series

Please note that the webinars from our previous series are still available to view. For more information, please click the links below:

Archived Webinars

Vimeo Channel