The Licentiateship of the Faculty of Forensic & Legal Medicine in Sexual Offence Medicine

The LFFLM (SOM) is a four-module exam. It consists of:

  • a Part 1 written exam, which has 150 best-of-five multiple-choice questions and is online;
  • a COVE (compendium of validated evidence);
  • a Portfolio;
  • and a Part 2 clinical exam (11 or 14 stations); most stations are online.

For information on fees please visit this page.

If you cannot convert the PDF version of the Regulations to a Word one, you may like to use this Word version instead, where you can find the COVE and Portfolio templates.

Note that in the Part 2 exam candidates have three options: the generic exam (14 stations), one specifically for those who’d like to do the adult-only stations, the LFFLM (SOM) (a), and one specifically for those who’d like to do the child-only stations, the LFFLM (SOM) (c). The (a) and (c) options only have 11 stations.

Further information about each of the modules can be found below, under Regulations, guidelines and syllabus.

All four components must be done in four years, while the Part 1 pass result is still valid, otherwise that module will need to be done again.

Success in it allows the candidate to apply to become a Licentiate of our Faculty and to use of the postnominal LFFLM (SOM).

Essential reading

Please study the material below to know more about your exam and to prepare for it.

LFFLM (SOM) Revision Materials