of the Royal College of Physicians of London



Registered Charity No 1119599

The 13th Annual General Meeting of the Faculty of Forensic & Legal Medicine held at St David's Hotel, Havannah Street, Cardiff on 10 May 2019.

MINUTES

- 1. No apologies for absence were received by the Registrar.
- 2. Minutes of the last meeting: these were approved as a correct record. There were no matters arising from the minutes that were not included on the Agenda.
- 3. Award of Diplomas to newly elected Honorary Fellows and Fellows and to successful candidates in the FFLM examinations: Diplomas have been awarded to the recipients listed in the Appendix to these Minutes, those in bold
- 4. President's Report: see printed report. Grateful to team at FFLM, office staff and Senior Officers, especially those demitting office at this AGM. All members of committees, CS will continue with Specialty Advisory Committee.
- 5. Registrar's Report: written report available on-line. Thanks to Office staff for their help through a difficult year. Numerous elections with new President, Academic Dean, Treasurer and three Vice Presidents. GDPR now implemented. Membership is declining overall, reduced about 100 from 2016 to 2019 with significant effects on income Most of reduction is in Affiliates, somewhat balanced by arrival of new DLA members and Fellows. Website successful and used about 4000 visits in April 2018 which is an increase over last year's access, especially to Guidance documents.
- 6. Amendments to Standing Orders: list published earlier on website. Procedures progress and develop in the Faculty, the revised Standing Order document lists areas of change. Most are simply housekeeping changes, including names of some committees. Membership by equivalent qualification suggestion to streamline medical coroners, psychiatrists and home office pathologists accepted but proposal to delete this route for odontologists rejected by AGM after discussion. Suggestion that forensic anthropologists be included discussed and deferred to next M&F committee. DLA Foundation Fellowship and Membership for a fixed period of time agreed. Modernisation of ballots to secure electronic status agreed.

Member present at AGM asked what percentage of possible applicants at all levels have joined the Faculty and how to access that information in order to contact non-members. GDPR is a problem and all members of Faculty asked to encourage non-members they work with to join.

of the Royal College of Physicians of London



- 7. Treasurer's Report: the Treasurer was not at the AGM but had made Accounts and reports for the year available. President noted that all Royal Colleges and Faculties were having problems and that the FFLM, as a small Faculty, also needs to husband our resources. No increase in subscription agreed. Registrar noted (as in his report) need to leave current (Alie Street) offices and staff are looking for new space.
- 8. Academic Dean's Report: Academic Dean presented her 12 page report. Few specific things to draw AGM's attention to. Thanks to Senior Officers, committee members and Faculty staff. Chief Examiner now Caroline Jones. No longer responsible for DipFHID examination. People need to be supported and encouraged to sit exams. Thanks to examiners especially. Conference, thanks to Priya. Educational days and webinars a great success. Update Ulster e-learning course completed with special thanks to Prof Sarah Hull. Position statements also produced with various partners. Thanks to Victims of Torture Group for their hard work. No questions.
- 9. Journal of Forensic & Legal Medicine: full report on Faculty and Elsevier websites. Thanks to editorial board and team. No questions.
- 10. David Jenkins Chair: Professor Philip Lumb appointed for 2019 2020
- 11. AOB: None
- 12. Date of next AGM: 08 May 2020. (later changed to 15 May)

Dr Margaret Stark received the Chain of Office from Professor Carol Seymour and was inducted as the President of the Faculty. She thanked all of the new Senior Officers and Office staff and also Professor Jason Payne-James for all his work over many years on the Journal.

Meeting closed

of the Royal College of Physicians of London



Registered Charity No 1119599

Appendix 1

(Names in BOLD indicates that the Diploma was collected in person)

Honorary Fellows

Prof John Cooper Mrs Margaret Cooper Prof Robert Flanagan

Fellows

Dr Marika Davies Dr Caroline Dodd Prof Sarah Hull Dr Robin Jamieson Dr Susan Lewis Dr Rohan Samarasinghe **Dr Fiona Wilcox**

Foundation Fellows (DLA)

Miss Nancy Boodhoo Mr Michael Butterworth Mr Leonard D'Cruz Mr Brian Edlin **Dr Angela Harkins** Ms Helen Kaney Ms Jane Merivale Mr Sudhirchandra Radia Mr Raj Rattan Dr Philip Shaw Dr Terence Simpson **Mr Brian Westbury**

Foundation Member (DLA)

Ms Clare Lawrence

Member by equivalent qualification

Mr Mark Harris

MFFLM Dr Sarah Whiteman (SOM)

LLFM Miss Keeley Roe

DLM Dr Kamran Ahmed Dr Ridwaan Ahmed Dr Oyewale Atoyebi Dr Sukhendu Banik Mr Andrew Cameron Dr Carina DeBattista Dr Rebecca Faulkner Dr Amy Hamm Dr Andrew Holman **Dr Sabira Hughes Dr Christopher Humphries** Dr Daniel Hurley Dr Sandra Ives Dr Michal Kaim Dr Gerard Kelly Dr Arunlal Kumarapatham Mr Nicholas Lane Dr Naomi Leese Dr Ho Tim Timothy Leung Dr Jennifer Low Dr Kelly Mackey Dr Afdzal Maridzuan Dr Gail McLachlan Mr Terence Merck Dr Mohammed Shoaib Moughal Dr Godwin Omijie Dr Olayinka Omisore Dr Aisling O'Riordan Dr Alexandra Rose Pain

of the Royal College of Physicians of London



DLM cont.

Dr Matthew Pickering Mr Hedjaz Rajab Dr Sacha Shillingford Cammock Dr Sara Sreih Dr Iona Steen Dr Gemma Taylor

<u>DipFHID</u> Dr Jackie Belsham Mrs Zoe Cadwell Ms Catarina Ferreira